Our Learning Community

Our learning spaces are designed to match our approach of collaborative teaching and learning. We have a strong focus on student agency (learners knowing themselves as learners and having the power to act). While our learners all have a home class and a specific teacher assigned to them, they will learn with a variety of teachers as appropriate to the purpose and needs of their learning over their time at Birchville School. 

Parents, whanau and the wider community are seen as valued contributors to our learning community and you will often see them in classes helping out, sharing ideas and both teaching and learning alongside our staff and students. 

Our current structure looks like this:

 

Our Junior Syndicate consists of:

Emerald

Cherie Toatoa (Whaea Cherie) cherie@birchville.school.nz

Assistant Principal and Syndicate Leader 

Michelle Ayton michellea@birchville.school.nz

Literacy Co-Leader

Greenstone (formally Jade)

Katrina Erne katrina@birchville.school.nz

New Entrant Teacher

Moonstone

Robyn Brown robyn@birchville.school.nz

Deputy Principal and Collaborative Practices Coach

Scott Balmforth scott@birchville.school.nz 

P.E. and Health Leader

 

Our Senior Syndicate consists of: 

Sapphire

Lisa Webster lisa@birchville.school.nz

SENCO and Syndicate Leader

Kelly Steere ksteere@birchville.school.nz

Literacy Co-Leader

 _____________________________________

Other staff

Sarah Linehan sarah@birchville.school.nz

Alan White alan@birchville.school.nz

Becky Jackson becky@birchville.school.nz

CRT and Leadership release

Wendy Amies wendy@birchville.school.nz

Reading Recovery

Kelly Salter

Learning support 

 

Kerry Marryatt  kerry@birchville.school.nz      

Accounts and Library  

 

Anne McPhie office@birchville.school.nz

Office Manager                                      

 

Simon  Kenny principal@birchville.school.nz

Principal